GOVERNMENT OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS VIRGIN ISLANDS BOARD OF EDUCATION



BOARD OFFICERS

Arah C. Lockhart Chairman

Kyza A. Callwood, MPA Vice-Chairman

Winona A. Hendricks Secretary

St. Croix Members

Winona A. Hendricks Terrence T. Joseph Mary L. Moorhead Martial Webster, Esq.

St. Thomas/St. John Members

Kyza A. Callwood, MPA Judy M. Gomez, Esq. Arah C. Lockhart Jeanette Smith-Barry

James Provost
At Large Member

Milton E. Potter **Executive Director**

Emmett Hansen II
Associate Executive Director

St. Croix Office

1123 King Street Christiansted, VI 00820 Telephone No. 340-772-4144 Fax No. 340-772-2895

St. Thomas Office

P.O Box 11900 Dronningens Gade Nos. 60B, 61 & 62 St. Thomas, VI 00801 Telephone No. 340-774-4546 Fax. No. 340-774-3384

WEBSITE

www.myviboe.com

Tuesday, January 14, 2020 For Immediate Press Release (No. 01-2020)

Virgin Islands Board of Education (VIBE) Announces

PRESS RELEASE

The 19th Virgin Islands Board of Education wishes to inform the public that its offices on the islands of St. Croix and St. Thomas will be closed on Thursday, January 16th and Friday, January 17th for professional development.

The offices will re-open on Tuesday, January 21st at 8:00 am. Thank you for your understanding.

XXX

MISSION STATEMENT

The Virgin Islands Board of Education is committed to its vision and will promote the transformation of the structure of existing public education through:

1. governance over the public education system; 2. improved student, parent, teacher relationship; 3. comprehensive community engagement; 4. standards that promote high academic achievement; 5. creation of an environment that is conducive to effective communication; 6. enhanced quality of professional development for all; 7. provision of adequate resources to achieve our vision, goals and objectives.

VISION STATEMENT